Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 26th, 2015

How old do you have to be before your parents quit affecting your life?  I am 52.  I haven’t talked to my mother in years, 6, I think.  And I still hear her in the back of my mind….nothing is good enough.  Nothing is done according to her plans.  My hair needs cut.  My clothes are too current (trust me, they aren’t).  I haven’t talked to her in years and these thoughts still play over and over in my head.  I don’t even know if I even cross her mind anymore.

I wonder if she thinks about me.  I wonder if I cross her mind at all.  Or I was written off for good, like the couple of her friends that saw her drop while I was growing up.  I wonder if she cares.

Life is easier *not* talking to her.  I don’t have to worry about saying the right, or wrong thing.  I don’t have to walk on eggshells.  But I can’t get her out of my head.  And now with Oldest’s upcoming wedding, she may just show up as she will be invited, and then I *will* have to deal with her.  I am picturing a nice bottle of wine with my name on it in the future…

So again, how old do you have to be before your parents quit affecting your life?  Anyone??

Read Full Post »